Contact Us



Archived Articles

2013 Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show

images[3]The International judges of  the 2013 Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show , British wine writer and TV personality Oz Clarke, Austalian winemaker Tom Carson of Yabba Lake in Victoria  and  Eric Goettelmann, a sommelier working in Burgunday  were unanimous  in their praise for the quality of wines on show. The fact that the medal tally was lower than last year  showed that the bar had been raised compared to previous years.

On a contrevesial note, cork taint spoilt a startlingly high number of wines in the show with 13% of the top wines put forward for judging which included 66% ( Yes that is correct ! )  of the cork closed white wines. In comparison only about 5% of wines in Austalia are still bottled under cork.

The big winner was STARKE CONDE WINES from Stellenbosch and  José Conde  took home the Fairbairn Capital Trophy for the most succesful producer. He garnered trophies for Best Cabernet Sauvignon and Shiraz as well as three siver and three bronze medals.


Producer Overall : Starke Conde Wines ( Stellenbosch)

Best White Wine on show

Rijk’s Chenin Blanc Reserve 2008 ( Tulbagh )

Best Red Wine  on show

Delaire Graff Botmaskop 2010 ( Stellenbosch )


Rustenberg Five Soldiers 2011 ( Stellenbosch )

Museum Class Chardonnay

Nuy Chardonnay 2009 ( Worcester )

Sauvignon  Blanc Semillon Blend

Delaire Sauvignon Semillon Resertve 2011 ( Stellenbosch )

Sauvignon  Blanc Unwooded

Cederberg Sauvignon Blanc 2012  ( Cederberg )

Sauvignon Blanc wooded

Jordon Sauvignon Blanc 2012 ( Stellenbosch )

Museum Class Sauvignon Blanc

KWV The Mentors Sauvignon Blanc 2009 ( Paarl )

Museum Class Reisling

Jordon Reisling 2009 ( Stellenbosch )


Starke Condé Three Pines Syrah 2010 ( Stellenbosch )

Cabernet Sauvignon

Starke Conde Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon 2010 ( Stellenbosch )


Diemersfontein Carpe Diem Pinotage 2011 ( Paarl )

Niche Variety Red Wine

KWV The Mentors Petit Verdot 2011 ( Paarl )

Best Value Wine on show 

Eikendal Charisma 2011 ( Stellenbosch )

Bordeaux Style Red Blend

Diemersdal MM Louw Estate Red  2011 ( Durbanville )

Dessert Wine

Delheim Edelspatz Noble Late Harvest 2012 ( Stellenbosch )

Dessert Wine ( fortified )

Nuy White Muscadel 2007

Sparkling Wine

JC Le Roux Scintilla 2003


For the full list of winners visit


Comments are closed.